Connect with us
Fantastic Five: The best comics of the week of August 25, 2021

Comic Books

Fantastic Five: The best comics of the week of August 25, 2021

Five different publishers claim spots in the top five single-issue comic books of the week.

Welcome back to another installment of Fantastic Five, AIPT’s weekly look back at the best comics of the week. This week, we have a healthy mix of books from a number of publishers, as Marvel, DC, IDW, Image, and InterPop all claim one of the top five spots. Let’s get to the reviews!

Emergents Presents #1

Considering how many superhero comics there are to choose from across publishers, I was blown away by what Emergents Presents #1 has to offer. Of course, once you see the creators involved in each project it should be clear we’re reading some impressive stories by creators who have been in the business for some time. Emergents Presents #1 is a great start for a new superhero universe, with each story showing why their heroes matter and why you should care. It’s exciting, eclectic, and laced with irresistibly interesting superheroes.

Read David Brooke’s full review.

Listen to the latest episode of our weekly comics podcast!

Fantastic Five: The best comics of the week of August 25, 2021

Transformers: Shattered Glass #1

Mirror universes where the villains are the heroes (and vise-versa) always seem to be popular, and usually for good reason. Shattered Glass is a well established and already beloved take on the robots in disguise, so this issue really needed to leave a good impression. And in my eyes, it did that superbly well. With some fun writing, great characterization, interesting designs and overall solid art, this feels like the start to something truly great.

Read Reg Cruickshank’s full review.

Fantastic Five: The best comics of the week of August 25, 2021

Spider-Man: Life Story Annual 2021

Spider-Man: Life Story Annual is an unconventional superhero story, but one that needs to be told. So many people hold resentment, anger, and even guilt so close to the chest they forget to breathe. This is a story about a man filled with those feelings and how he finds the courage to be better.

Read David Brooke’s full review.

Fantastic Five: The best comics of the week of August 25, 2021

Robin #5

You might read Robin #5 and feel like it’s a filler book, but Williamson and Melnikov tug at your heartstrings with some well-earned emotional moments. The legacy of Batman and his sidekicks is long and you feel every moment in the little references and connections these characters share here.

Read David Brooke’s full review.

Fantastic Five: The best comics of the week of August 25, 2021

Echolands #1

Echolands has the makings of one of the great epics of modern comic books in the tradition of Sandman or Fables. Compelling, mysterious, and packed with a cast I cannot wait to get to know, this first issue does nothing to sate my curiosity over what comes next, and I cannot begin to anticipate the heights the book might reach.

Read Colin Moon’s full review.

Fantastic Five: The best comics of the week of August 25, 2021

Like what we do here at AIPT? Consider supporting us and independent comics journalism by becoming a patron today! In addition to our sincere thanks, you can browse AIPT ad-free, gain access to our vibrant Discord community of patrons and staff members, get trade paperbacks sent to your house every month, and a lot more. Click the button below to get started!

Comments

In Case You Missed It

'Fantastic Four' #35 is a celebration for new and old fans alike 'Fantastic Four' #35 is a celebration for new and old fans alike

‘Fantastic Four’ #35 is a celebration for new and old fans alike

Comic Books

'Eternals: Thanos Rises' #1 is an otherworldly joy to read 'Eternals: Thanos Rises' #1 is an otherworldly joy to read

‘Eternals: Thanos Rises’ #1 is an otherworldly joy to read

Comic Books

'X-Men Legends' #10 to introduce the Eighth Circle in Mr. Sinister story 'X-Men Legends' #10 to introduce the Eighth Circle in Mr. Sinister story

‘X-Men Legends’ #10 to introduce the Eighth Circle in Mr. Sinister story

Comic Books

Primordial #1 Primordial #1

‘Primordial’ #1 is a quiet book that supplies a cosmic wonder

Comic Books

Connect
Newsletter Signup