Connect with us
Press Release: Dark Horse Announces an Original Graphic Novel: Monsters! & Other Stories by Gustavo Duarte

Comic Books

Press Release: Dark Horse Announces an Original Graphic Novel: Monsters! & Other Stories by Gustavo Duarte

Press Release

“There are few artists with such classy and elegant style as Gustavo Duarte.”—GABRIEL BÁ (Daytripper, The Umbrella Academy)

MILWAUKIE, OR, AUGUST 14—Dark Horse continues to expand its Originals line, offering some of the most unique comic book storytelling experiences on the market today. Next up, Gustavo Duarte spins wordless tales brimming with humor, charm, and delightfully twisted horror in his American graphic novel debut Monsters! & Other Stories.

Listen to the latest episode of our weekly comics podcast!

Oversized beasts, in the short story “Monsters!,” wreak havoc on civilians and cities in the tradition of Godzilla and King Kong. In “Có!,” an alien abduction disarms a gentle farmer, and in “Birds,” two business partners run from fate, only to find themselves hopelessly unable to change the future.

Beautiful illustration and evocative storytelling fill every page of this unforgettable collection that brings together Duarte’s works, which were previously only available in his native country of Brazil.

“It is a joy and an honor to have my first book published in the USA by Dark Horse,” said Gustavo Duarte. “It’s really cool to have Monsters! published by the company that has produced the work of so many guys I admire, like Mike Mignola and Eric Powell, among others. I hope this is the first of many.”

Duarte’s Monsters! & Other Stories arrives in finer comic shops everywhere on January 15, 2014, and will carry a cover price of only $12.99 for 152 beautifully illustrated pages!

MonstersTeaser

Check out the exclusive first look at Monsters! & Other Stories on Comics Alliance.

Join the AIPT Patreon

Want to take our relationship to the next level? Become a patron today to gain access to exclusive perks, such as:

  • ❌ Remove all ads on the website
  • 💬 Join our Discord community, where we chat about the latest news and releases from everything we cover on AIPT
  • 📗 Access to our monthly book club
  • 📦 Get a physical trade paperback shipped to you every month
  • 💥 And more!
Sign up today
Comments

In Case You Missed It

New Dawn of DC 2023 details reveal Cyborg, Titans, Green Lantern, and more New Dawn of DC 2023 details reveal Cyborg, Titans, Green Lantern, and more

New Dawn of DC 2023 details reveal Cyborg, Titans, Green Lantern, and more

Comic Books

'Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles: The Last Ronin –The Lost Years' #1 review 'Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles: The Last Ronin –The Lost Years' #1 review

‘Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles: The Last Ronin –The Lost Years’ #1 review

Comic Books

AIPT Comics Podcast episode 206: Ram V talks the operatic poetry of Gotham, Batman, and Two-Face AIPT Comics Podcast episode 206: Ram V talks the operatic poetry of Gotham, Batman, and Two-Face

AIPT Comics Podcast episode 206: Ram V talks the operatic poetry of Gotham, Batman, and Two-Face

Comic Books

'Sins of Sinister' #1 sets things up while acting as a great event one-shot 'Sins of Sinister' #1 sets things up while acting as a great event one-shot

‘Sins of Sinister’ #1 sets things up while acting as a great event one-shot

Comic Books

Connect
Newsletter Signup