Connect with us
'Elektra: Always Bet on Red' review: an exciting book that soars in its inventiveness and mixes together hero and villain in an exciting way

Comic Books

‘Elektra: Always Bet on Red’ review: an exciting book that soars in its inventiveness and mixes together hero and villain in an exciting way

Elektra’s in Sin City facing down the villain Arcade. Will what happens in Vegas stay in Vegas?

[amazon_link asins=’1302905643′ template=’AiPTProductAd’ store=’aiptcomics-20′ marketplace=’US’ link_id=’b1ae7feb-9823-11e7-92cc-5f63903f66f0′]

Marvel’s most skilled assassin tries to find a new life for herself, and like all lost souls, ends up in Las Vegas. The bright lights of Sin City casinos provides a novel experience for Elektra, as does the villain Arcade.

Listen to the latest episode of our weekly comics podcast!

Las Vegas gives writer Matt Owens a great way to contrast Elektra’s normally secretive nature with the omnipresent lights and sounds of Vegas. Since Elektra can’t sneak around in quite the same way, Owens presents that stealthy side through her language. Elektra’s a fairly quiet protagonist, even her captions here are sparse. This does mean that the character beats are smaller in Elektra: Always Bet on Red, but part of this feels like the series was building towards something bigger (a feeling that becomes more obvious in the collection’s conclusion). It’s an unfortunate part of the business that comics can get cancelled as quickly as they do, but the end result is that Elektra: Always Bet on Red flows at a brisk pace, as the assassin faces the deadly machinations of Arcade.

The setting of Vegas would mean diddly squat however, if the artist wasn’t able to take advantage of it and really show it off. Fortunately, artist Juann Cabal is up to the task and brings a visual flair to the proceedings. The designs and smooth linework give the book an electric feel that works really well given Arcade’s video-game aesthetic.

'Elektra: Always Bet on Red' review: an exciting book that soars in its inventiveness and mixes together hero and villain in an exciting way

Aiding this effect are the colorists working on the book. The majority of the book was handled by Antonio Fabela, with Marcio Menyz handling the first chapter, and Jordan Boyd handling the third. All the colorists use a vibrant palette that matches the surreal “it’s-always-daytime-here” aspect of Vegas. It helps highlight the contrast between this story and a lot of Elektra’s past comic book runs.

For her part, Elektra is still the assassin readers have come to expect, and Cabal guest artist Martin Morrazo render her with deadly efficiency. The setting allows for some interesting setpieces. Where else is one going to see Elektra using her acrobatics on a carousel?

Is It Good?

It’s unfortunate that this newest run couldn’t get past the first arc. The biggest frustration with Elektra: Always Bet on Red is that there are sprinkles of character development that surely would have paid off in later issues, but feel hollow on their own. Nonetheless, Matt Owens, Juann Cabal, and co. have created an exciting book that soars in its inventiveness and mixes together hero and villain in an exciting ways. For fans of both Elektra and Arcade, this should not be missed.

'Elektra: Always Bet on Red' review: an exciting book that soars in its inventiveness and mixes together hero and villain in an exciting way
Elektra: Always Bet on Red
Is it good?
Inventive and energetic, Elektra: Always Bet on Red is a nice entry into the character's canon that makes the most of its setting and its antagonist to reveal new layers to the lethal assassin.
Juann Cabal's artwork is stellar.
Matt Owens' uses Arcade to show off Elektra in a different type of adventure than readers may have come to expect.
The sprinkling of character beats in the story feel like something that would have built up in a hypothetical second arc. Unfortunately, the book feels a little hollow because of it.
8.5
Great

Join the AIPT Patreon

Want to take our relationship to the next level? Become a patron today to gain access to exclusive perks, such as:

  • ❌ Remove all ads on the website
  • 💬 Join our Discord community, where we chat about the latest news and releases from everything we cover on AIPT
  • 📗 Access to our monthly book club
  • 📦 Get a physical trade paperback shipped to you every month
  • 💥 And more!
Sign up today
Comments

In Case You Missed It

DC Comics unveils 'DC All In' line of comics DC Comics unveils 'DC All In' line of comics

DC Comics unveils ‘DC All In’ line of comics

Comic Books

X-Men Monday #259 - Collin Kelly & Jackson Lanzing Talk 'NYX' X-Men Monday #259 - Collin Kelly & Jackson Lanzing Talk 'NYX'

X-Men Monday #259 – Collin Kelly & Jackson Lanzing Talk ‘NYX’

Comic Books

Marvel set to relaunch 'Iron Man' on October 23rd, 2024 Marvel set to relaunch 'Iron Man' on October 23rd, 2024

Marvel Comics relaunching ‘Iron Man’ on October 23rd, 2024

Comic Books

DC Comics details 'Absolute Universe' titles, creative teams and more DC All In DC Comics details 'Absolute Universe' titles, creative teams and more DC All In

Every creator involved in ‘DC All In’ kicking off October 2024

Comic Books

Connect
Newsletter Signup