Connect with us
Image announces new dark fantasy series Bliss
Image Comics

Comic Books

Image announces new dark fantasy series Bliss

Writer Sean Lewis reteams with fan favorite Coyotes artist Caitlin Yarsky.

Press Release

Award winning playwright and bestselling comics writer Sean Lewis (Coyotes, Thumbs) Image announces new dark fantasy series Blissreteams with fan favorite Coyotes artist Caitlin Yarsky for a dark urban fantasy maxi-series titled Bliss. It will consist of two story arcs and launch from Image Comics this June.

“I grew up seeing people getting addicted to things: drugs, success, sex… it always seemed to be about forgetting deeper pains,” said Lewis. “I spent some of my life trying to forget my dad through these means, now that I’m a dad it made me wonder: how could that cycle break? And what happens to all these memories we push away? What if the Goddess Lethe was real? What if she is who we answered to?”

In this upcoming series, there’s a drug called Bliss wiping away memories in Feral City. A good-hearted young man—overwhelmed by a deathly sick child and distraught wife—makes a deal to become the personal hitman to three gods, killing those in their way and sending memories down the river of Oblivion in exchange for his family’s well-being.

Yarsky added: “As time passes and we become more burdened with memories of our past mistakes and misfortunes, we often turn to self destructive coping mechanisms. Anything to turn off the din of guilt and regret. But in the process of trying to drown it all out, we create monsters that eat away at us until there is nothing left. To me, Bliss is about what happens when we pull ourselves out of the wreckage. It’s about finding redemption through self-actualization and love.”

Best described as Breaking Bad meets Neil Gaiman’s American Gods, Bliss is the perfect new addiction for fans of Gaiman’s Sandman and Dan Watters and Dani’s Coffin Bound.

Bliss #1 will be available at comic book shops on Wednesday, June 24.

Bliss #1 will also be available for purchase across many digital platforms, including the official Image Comics iOS app, Amazon Kindle, Apple Books, comiXology, and Google Play.

Image announces new dark fantasy series Bliss

Image Comics

Image announces new dark fantasy series Bliss

Image Comics

Listen to the latest episode of our weekly comics podcast!
Image announces new dark fantasy series Bliss

Image Comics

Image announces new dark fantasy series Bliss

Image Comics

Image announces new dark fantasy series Bliss

Image Comics

Like what we do here at AIPT? Consider supporting us and independent comics journalism by becoming a patron today! In addition to our sincere thanks, you can browse AIPT ad-free, gain access to our vibrant Discord community of patrons and staff members, get trade paperbacks sent to your house every month, and a lot more. Click the button below to get started!

Comments

In Case You Missed It

Far Sector 11 cover by Jamal Campbell Far Sector 11 cover by Jamal Campbell

‘Far Sector’ #11 tells a story with beautiful timeliness

Comic Books

Marvel announces 'Extreme Carnage: Phage' #1 for July 2021 Marvel announces 'Extreme Carnage: Phage' #1 for July 2021

Marvel announces ‘Extreme Carnage: Phage’ #1 for July 2021

Comic Books

X-Men Monday #101 - Steve Orlando Talks Magneto, Marrow and More X-Men Monday #101 - Steve Orlando Talks Magneto, Marrow and More

X-Men Monday #101 – Steve Orlando Talks Magneto, Marrow and More

Comic Books

Children Of The Atom (2021-) #2 Children Of The Atom (2021-) #2

Marvel Preview: Children Of The Atom #2

Comic Books

Connect
Newsletter Signup