Connect with us
Heavy Metal announces 'Chasing the Dragon' #1 sells out
Heavy Metal

Comic Books

Heavy Metal announces ‘Chasing the Dragon’ #1 sells out

‘Chasing the Dragon’ #1 is getting a second printing.

Today, Heavy Metal Entertainment has announced Denton J. Tipton and menton3’s Chasing the Dragon #1 has sold out and is getting a second printing. Tipton also runs the imprint Magma Comix which Chasing the Dragon is printed under. Fans who missed the first issue can pick up the second printing on June 9th the same week issue #4 releases in comic book shops. The second printing cover is by Joseph Michael Linsner (Cry for Dawn, Red Sonja).

“When I first came across Joseph Michael Linsner’s work, I was instantly obsessed. I was a teenager, so naturally, his figure work instantly grabbed me, but behind it, you could see there was a statement being made in the stories he told,” Tipton said in a statement. “Linsner had something to say, and it really spoke to me. It still does these many years later, and I’m honored that one of his masterpieces now graces something I’ve written. And the fact that it’s for a new printing of a sold-out comic that I wrote truly boggles my mind.”

Listen to the latest episode of our weekly comics podcast!

Check out the second printing cover below.

Heavy Metal announces 'Chasing the Dragon' #1 sells out
Linsner added, “I was thrilled to be asked to do a cover for Chasing The Dragon. It’s a great book. It combines both classic and modern fantasy styles and comes up with something very new. I can’t wait to finish reading the whole series! It feels great being involved with a project that dances on comic’s cutting edge.”

So what’s Chasing the Dragon #1 about?

In Chasing the Dragon, New York Times Bestselling writer Denton J. Tipton and celebrated painter menton3 explore a dark fantasy world ravaged by the rampant abuse of a drug made from the blood of dragons.

When two young slaves discover a terrible secret that could change the course of the world, will a meek alchemist’s apprentice and a drug-addled concubine survive long outside their cages?

For fans of The Witcher and Breaking Bad.

Fans can pick up Chasing The Dragon #3 in comic book shops this week.

Like what we do here at AIPT? Consider supporting us and independent comics journalism by becoming a patron today! In addition to our sincere thanks, you can browse AIPT ad-free, gain access to our vibrant Discord community of patrons and staff members, get trade paperbacks sent to your house every month, and a lot more. Click the button below to get started!

Comments

In Case You Missed It

X-Men Monday #111 - Anthony Oliveira & Steve Orlando Talk ‘Marvel’s Voices: Pride’ X-Men Monday #111 - Anthony Oliveira & Steve Orlando Talk ‘Marvel’s Voices: Pride’

X-Men Monday #111 – Anthony Oliveira & Steve Orlando Talk ‘Marvel’s Voices: Pride’

Comic Books

X-Men Monday #110 - Jordan D. White Answers Your Hellfire Gala Week 2 Questions X-Men Monday #110 - Jordan D. White Answers Your Hellfire Gala Week 2 Questions

X-Men Monday #110 – Jordan D. White Answers Your Hellfire Gala Week 2 Questions

Comic Books

Planet-Size X-Men #1 Planet-Size X-Men #1

‘Planet-Size X-Men’ #1 wants to be bigger than it is, but promises an era of expansion

Comic Books

A word on some recently published articles A word on some recently published articles

A word on some recently published articles

Feature

Connect
Newsletter Signup