Connect with us
Heavy Metal announces 'Chasing the Dragon' #1 sells out
Heavy Metal

Comic Books

Heavy Metal announces ‘Chasing the Dragon’ #1 sells out

‘Chasing the Dragon’ #1 is getting a second printing.

Today, Heavy Metal Entertainment has announced Denton J. Tipton and menton3’s Chasing the Dragon #1 has sold out and is getting a second printing. Tipton also runs the imprint Magma Comix which Chasing the Dragon is printed under. Fans who missed the first issue can pick up the second printing on June 9th the same week issue #4 releases in comic book shops. The second printing cover is by Joseph Michael Linsner (Cry for Dawn, Red Sonja).

“When I first came across Joseph Michael Linsner’s work, I was instantly obsessed. I was a teenager, so naturally, his figure work instantly grabbed me, but behind it, you could see there was a statement being made in the stories he told,” Tipton said in a statement. “Linsner had something to say, and it really spoke to me. It still does these many years later, and I’m honored that one of his masterpieces now graces something I’ve written. And the fact that it’s for a new printing of a sold-out comic that I wrote truly boggles my mind.”

Listen to the latest episode of our weekly comics podcast!

Check out the second printing cover below.

Heavy Metal announces 'Chasing the Dragon' #1 sells out
Linsner added, “I was thrilled to be asked to do a cover for Chasing The Dragon. It’s a great book. It combines both classic and modern fantasy styles and comes up with something very new. I can’t wait to finish reading the whole series! It feels great being involved with a project that dances on comic’s cutting edge.”

So what’s Chasing the Dragon #1 about?

In Chasing the Dragon, New York Times Bestselling writer Denton J. Tipton and celebrated painter menton3 explore a dark fantasy world ravaged by the rampant abuse of a drug made from the blood of dragons.

When two young slaves discover a terrible secret that could change the course of the world, will a meek alchemist’s apprentice and a drug-addled concubine survive long outside their cages?

For fans of The Witcher and Breaking Bad.

Fans can pick up Chasing The Dragon #3 in comic book shops this week.

Join the AIPT Patreon

Want to take our relationship to the next level? Become a patron today to gain access to exclusive perks, such as:

  • ❌ Remove all ads on the website
  • 💬 Join our Discord community, where we chat about the latest news and releases from everything we cover on AIPT
  • 📗 Access to our monthly book club
  • 📦 Get a physical trade paperback shipped to you every month
  • 💥 And more!
Sign up today
Comments

In Case You Missed It

Cowboy Bebop: Supernova Swing Cowboy Bebop: Supernova Swing

‘Cowboy Bebop: Supernova Swing’ review

Comic Books

X-Men Monday #172 - Steve Foxe Reflects on 'X-Men '92: House of XCII' X-Men Monday #172 - Steve Foxe Reflects on 'X-Men '92: House of XCII'

X-Men Monday #172 – Steve Foxe Reflects on ‘X-Men ’92: House of XCII’

Comic Books

'House of the Dragon' S1E5 'We Light the Way' is edge of your seat TV 'House of the Dragon' S1E5 'We Light the Way' is edge of your seat TV

‘House of the Dragon’ S1E5 ‘We Light the Way’ is edge of your seat TV

Television

'A.X.E.: Judgment Day' #5 changes Krakoa, resurrection, and the future of the X-Men 'A.X.E.: Judgment Day' #5 changes Krakoa, resurrection, and the future of the X-Men

‘A.X.E.: Judgment Day’ #5 changes Krakoa, resurrection, and the future of the X-Men

Comic Books

Connect
Newsletter Signup