Connect with us
Image announces new crime drama, 'Pulp'
Image

Comic Books

Image announces new crime drama, ‘Pulp’

Ed Brubaker and Sean Phillips team up to deliver bank robbers, Nazis, and spies.

Press Release

Image Comics has announced a new crime drama graphic novel from the team of writer Ed Brubaker and artist Sean Phillips. The Eisner Award winning pair have previously working together to create My Heroes Have Always Been Junkies, Bad Weekend, and Criminal.

Image synopsis:

Listen to the latest episode of our weekly comics podcast!

Max Winters, a pulp writer in 1930s New York, finds himself drawn into a story not unlike the tales he churns out at five cents a word—tales of a Wild West outlaw dispensing justice with a six-gun. But will Max be able to do the same, when pursued by bank robbers, Nazi spies, and enemies from his past? Find out in this must-have thriller from one of comics’ most acclaimed creative teams, perfect for fans of The Fade Out and Criminal.

“When Sean and I decided to do something completely new for our next original graphic novel, he planted the idea of a Western in my head… And I found myself drawn to the era where that genre first hit big—the pulp magazines and the Great Depression,” said Brubaker in the press release. “I thought about all these writers telling fictionalized versions of the vanishing days of the Wild West, as their own world was going through one of its darkest hours… And suddenly I realized I had the makings of a really great pulp story, but one set in the real world. A story that I really wanted to tell.”

Phillips added: “I asked Ed to write me a Western and this is as close as he could get. Hopefully I don’t have to draw too many horses. Or hats. Or six-shooters. What was I thinking?’’

Pulp will hit comic store shelves on May 20 and arrive shortly after in bookstores on May 26.

Image announces new crime drama, 'Pulp'

Image

Become a patron today to get exclusive perks, like access to our exclusive Discord community and our monthly comic book club, ad-free browsing on aiptcomics.com, a physical trade paperback sent to your house every month, and more!

Comments

In Case You Missed It

Bryan Danielson suffers leg injury at AEW Rampage tapings Bryan Danielson suffers leg injury at AEW Rampage tapings

Bryan Danielson suffers leg injury at AEW Rampage tapings

Pro Wrestling

'Shaolin Cowboy: Cruel To Be Kin' #1 is a very weird near masterpiece 'Shaolin Cowboy: Cruel To Be Kin' #1 is a very weird near masterpiece

‘Shaolin Cowboy: Cruel To Be Kin’ #1 is a very weird near masterpiece

Comic Books

'Grim' #1 review 'Grim' #1 review

‘Grim’ #1 review

Comic Books

DC Comics announces multiple Batman 'One Bad Day' OGN's for 2022 DC Comics announces multiple Batman 'One Bad Day' OGN's for 2022

DC Comics announces multiple Batman ‘One Bad Day’ OGN’s for 2022

Comic Books

Connect
Newsletter Signup