Connect with us
EXCLUSIVE Z2 First Look: The Last Comic Book on the Left Vol. 1
Z2

Comic Books

EXCLUSIVE Z2 First Look: The Last Comic Book on the Left Vol. 1

A new horror anthology is on the way in Spring 2022 called ‘The Last Comic Book on the Left.’

Press Release

Z2 Comics and The Last Podcast on the Left are teaming up for a new comics anthology set to debut in Spring 2022. Announced today, The Last Comic Book on the Left Vol. 1 graphic novel will pay homage to the history of horror comics in the same vein as Eerie and Tales From the Crypt.

Creators involved with the project include James Tynion IV, Tyler Boss, Ryan Cady, Morgan Beem, Noah Van Sciver, Logan Faerber, Rick Veitch, Eliot Rahal, and more.

Listen to the latest episode of our weekly comics podcast!

Courtesy of Z2, AIPT has an exclusive look at a print that comes with the deluxe edition of the graphic novel by Logan Faerberg called Black Death. Check it out below.

EXCLUSIVE Z2 First Look: The Last Comic Book on the Left Vol. 1

Here’s a full list of the print artists and their subjects:

  • Ian McGinty, Detective Popcorn
  • Sean Von Gorman, The Jersey Devil
  • Noah Van Sciver, Bigfoot
  • Jenna Cha, Mothman
  • Norzine, Aum Shinrikyo
  • Martin Morazzo, John Wayne Gacy
  • Logan Faerber, Black Death
  • Courtney Menard, The Rendlesham Forest Incident

“We are excited to expand our comic bloodlust with Z2 and The Last Comic On the Left,” Henry Zebrowski noted. “We get to see many of our more ‘colorful’ ideas receive the evil MAD Magazine treatment. Z2 works with some of the most talented artists and creators in the comic business and it’s a privilege to be in their talented hands.”

Check out the main cover by Bob Fingerman below.

EXCLUSIVE Z2 First Look: The Last Comic Book on the Left Vol. 1

For more on this project, read the official press release below.

NEW YORK, NY—After producing nearly 500 full episodes exploring the darkest corners of humanity and supernatural dread, horror-comedy connoisseurs Marcus Parks, Henry Zebrowski, and Ben Kissel are ushering their Last Podcast on the Left into the strangest realm of all: comic books. The trio has partnered with Z2 Comics, a publisher devoted to uniting trailblazing bands and entertainers with sequential art, to release a new series of graphic novels, beginning with The Last Comic Book on the Left Vol. 1, debuting Spring 2022. 

The project will pay homage to the storied history of horror comics with a curated, interlocking anthology in the vein of Creepy, Eerie, Tales From the Crypt, and The Vault of Horror. Participating creators include the most innovative voices in the genre, including:

  • James Tynion IV (The Department of Truth, Something Is Killing the Children)
  • Rick Veitch (Swamp Thing, Miracleman)
  • Bob Fingerman (Minimum Wage, Beg the Question)
  • Tyler Boss (4 Kids Walk Into a Bank, What’s the Furthest Place From Here?)
  • Ryan Cady (Machine Gun Kelly’s Hotel Diablo, Sublime: $5 at the Door)
    • Eliot Rahal (Machine Gun Kelly’s Hotel Diablo, the upcoming Cheech and Chong’s Chronicles: The Graphic Novel)
  • Morgan Beem (Swamp Thing: Twin Branches, The Family Trade)
  • Noah Van Sciver (Grateful Dead Origins, the upcoming Cheech and Chong’s Chronicles: The Graphic Novel)
  • Logan Faerber

“We are excited to expand our comic bloodlust with Z2 and The Last Comic On the Left,” Henry Zebrowski noted. “We get to see many of our more ‘colorful’ ideas receive the evil MAD Magazine treatment. Z2 works with some of the most talented artists and creators in the comic business and it’s a privilege to be in their talented hands.”

“When I first got turned onto The Last Podcast On The Left a couple years ago, I was immediately hooked. As a lifelong weirdo with an obsession for crime, paranormal, and the occult, I learned to stifle talking about it in mixed company—listening to this podcast about the strange was an instant release valve,” Z2 Comics Publisher Josh Frankel explains. “To be able to work with the guys to bring their comedic vision to life, as well as to do so in a format that pays homage to some of the greatest publications of all time, is insane to me”

Marcus Parks and Henry Zebrowski will also contribute a story to the project, illustrated by legendary artist John McCrea (Hitman, The Boys: Herogasm). Eric Powell (The Goon, Did You Hear What Eddie Gein Done?), Martin Morazzo (Ice Cream Man, HAHA), and Bob Fingerman provide cover art. 

Further embracing the podcast’s marriage of the sinister and silly, deluxe editions of The Last Comic Book on the Left will also come bundled with a series of prints, revolving around suspiciously erotic cryptids and other spooky surrealism. Artists and subjects include: 

  • Ian McGinty, Detective Popcorn
  • Sean Von Gorman, The Jersey Devil
  • Noah Van Sciver, Bigfoot
  • Jenna Cha, Mothman
  • Norzine, Aum Shinrikyo
  • Martin Morazzo, John Wayne Gacy
  • Logan Faerber, Black Death
  • Courtney Menard, The Rendlesham Forest Incident

The Last Comic Book on the Left Vol. 1 will be available this Spring from participating retailers and can be ordered directly from Z2.

Join the AIPT Patreon

Want to take our relationship to the next level? Become a patron today to gain access to exclusive perks, such as:

  • ❌ Remove all ads on the website
  • 💬 Join our Discord community, where we chat about the latest news and releases from everything we cover on AIPT
  • 📗 Access to our monthly book club
  • 📦 Get a physical trade paperback shipped to you every month
  • 💥 And more!
Sign up today
Comments

In Case You Missed It

Sick and disturbed: Daniel Hillyard and Doug Wagner unpack new series 'Plush' Sick and disturbed: Daniel Hillyard and Doug Wagner unpack new series 'Plush'

Sick and disturbed: Daniel Hillyard and Doug Wagner unpack new series ‘Plush’

Comic Books

'Batman' #129 has a breakneck pace and a great backup story 'Batman' #129 has a breakneck pace and a great backup story

‘Batman’ #129 has a breakneck pace and a great backup story

Comic Books

DC Comics Preview: Batman #130 DC Comics Preview: Batman #130

DC Comics Preview: Batman #130

Comic Books

'Batman & The Joker: The Deadly Duo' #1 captures a macabre, stunning Gotham 'Batman & The Joker: The Deadly Duo' #1 captures a macabre, stunning Gotham

‘Batman & The Joker: The Deadly Duo’ #1 captures a macabre, stunning Gotham

Comic Books

Connect
Newsletter Signup