Connect with us
EXCLUSIVE Z2 First Look: The Last Comic Book on the Left Vol. 1
Z2

Comic Books

EXCLUSIVE Z2 First Look: The Last Comic Book on the Left Vol. 1

A new horror anthology is on the way in Spring 2022 called ‘The Last Comic Book on the Left.’

Press Release

Z2 Comics and The Last Podcast on the Left are teaming up for a new comics anthology set to debut in Spring 2022. Announced today, The Last Comic Book on the Left Vol. 1 graphic novel will pay homage to the history of horror comics in the same vein as Eerie and Tales From the Crypt.

Creators involved with the project include James Tynion IV, Tyler Boss, Ryan Cady, Morgan Beem, Noah Van Sciver, Logan Faerber, Rick Veitch, Eliot Rahal, and more.

Listen to the latest episode of our weekly comics podcast!

Courtesy of Z2, AIPT has an exclusive look at a print that comes with the deluxe edition of the graphic novel by Logan Faerberg called Black Death. Check it out below.

EXCLUSIVE Z2 First Look: The Last Comic Book on the Left Vol. 1

Here’s a full list of the print artists and their subjects:

  • Ian McGinty, Detective Popcorn
  • Sean Von Gorman, The Jersey Devil
  • Noah Van Sciver, Bigfoot
  • Jenna Cha, Mothman
  • Norzine, Aum Shinrikyo
  • Martin Morazzo, John Wayne Gacy
  • Logan Faerber, Black Death
  • Courtney Menard, The Rendlesham Forest Incident

“We are excited to expand our comic bloodlust with Z2 and The Last Comic On the Left,” Henry Zebrowski noted. “We get to see many of our more ‘colorful’ ideas receive the evil MAD Magazine treatment. Z2 works with some of the most talented artists and creators in the comic business and it’s a privilege to be in their talented hands.”

Check out the main cover by Bob Fingerman below.

EXCLUSIVE Z2 First Look: The Last Comic Book on the Left Vol. 1

For more on this project, read the official press release below.

NEW YORK, NY—After producing nearly 500 full episodes exploring the darkest corners of humanity and supernatural dread, horror-comedy connoisseurs Marcus Parks, Henry Zebrowski, and Ben Kissel are ushering their Last Podcast on the Left into the strangest realm of all: comic books. The trio has partnered with Z2 Comics, a publisher devoted to uniting trailblazing bands and entertainers with sequential art, to release a new series of graphic novels, beginning with The Last Comic Book on the Left Vol. 1, debuting Spring 2022. 

The project will pay homage to the storied history of horror comics with a curated, interlocking anthology in the vein of Creepy, Eerie, Tales From the Crypt, and The Vault of Horror. Participating creators include the most innovative voices in the genre, including:

  • James Tynion IV (The Department of Truth, Something Is Killing the Children)
  • Rick Veitch (Swamp Thing, Miracleman)
  • Bob Fingerman (Minimum Wage, Beg the Question)
  • Tyler Boss (4 Kids Walk Into a Bank, What’s the Furthest Place From Here?)
  • Ryan Cady (Machine Gun Kelly’s Hotel Diablo, Sublime: $5 at the Door)
    • Eliot Rahal (Machine Gun Kelly’s Hotel Diablo, the upcoming Cheech and Chong’s Chronicles: The Graphic Novel)
  • Morgan Beem (Swamp Thing: Twin Branches, The Family Trade)
  • Noah Van Sciver (Grateful Dead Origins, the upcoming Cheech and Chong’s Chronicles: The Graphic Novel)
  • Logan Faerber

“We are excited to expand our comic bloodlust with Z2 and The Last Comic On the Left,” Henry Zebrowski noted. “We get to see many of our more ‘colorful’ ideas receive the evil MAD Magazine treatment. Z2 works with some of the most talented artists and creators in the comic business and it’s a privilege to be in their talented hands.”

“When I first got turned onto The Last Podcast On The Left a couple years ago, I was immediately hooked. As a lifelong weirdo with an obsession for crime, paranormal, and the occult, I learned to stifle talking about it in mixed company—listening to this podcast about the strange was an instant release valve,” Z2 Comics Publisher Josh Frankel explains. “To be able to work with the guys to bring their comedic vision to life, as well as to do so in a format that pays homage to some of the greatest publications of all time, is insane to me”

Marcus Parks and Henry Zebrowski will also contribute a story to the project, illustrated by legendary artist John McCrea (Hitman, The Boys: Herogasm). Eric Powell (The Goon, Did You Hear What Eddie Gein Done?), Martin Morazzo (Ice Cream Man, HAHA), and Bob Fingerman provide cover art. 

Further embracing the podcast’s marriage of the sinister and silly, deluxe editions of The Last Comic Book on the Left will also come bundled with a series of prints, revolving around suspiciously erotic cryptids and other spooky surrealism. Artists and subjects include: 

  • Ian McGinty, Detective Popcorn
  • Sean Von Gorman, The Jersey Devil
  • Noah Van Sciver, Bigfoot
  • Jenna Cha, Mothman
  • Norzine, Aum Shinrikyo
  • Martin Morazzo, John Wayne Gacy
  • Logan Faerber, Black Death
  • Courtney Menard, The Rendlesham Forest Incident

The Last Comic Book on the Left Vol. 1 will be available this Spring from participating retailers and can be ordered directly from Z2.

Like what we do here at AIPT? Consider supporting us and independent comics journalism by becoming a patron today! In addition to our sincere thanks, you can browse AIPT ad-free, gain access to our vibrant Discord community of patrons and staff members, get trade paperbacks sent to your house every month, and a lot more. Click the button below to get started!

Comments

In Case You Missed It

Marvel Preview: The Avengers #50 Marvel Preview: The Avengers #50

Marvel Preview: The Avengers #50

Comic Books

'Avengers' #50 is packed with entertainment 'Avengers' #50 is packed with entertainment

‘Avengers’ #50 is packed with entertainment

Comic Books

Marvel Preview: Fantastic Four #38 Marvel Preview: Fantastic Four #38

Marvel Preview: Fantastic Four #38

Comic Books

Marvel Preview: X-Men: The Trial of Magneto #4 Marvel Preview: X-Men: The Trial of Magneto #4

Marvel Preview: X-Men: The Trial of Magneto #4

Comic Books

Connect
Newsletter Signup