Connect with us
Dark Horse sends Young Adult OGN 'Under Kingdom' to comic shops March 2023
Dark Horse

Comic Books

Dark Horse sends Young Adult OGN ‘Under Kingdom’ to comic shops March 2023

‘Under Kingdom’ is perfect for fans of Critical Role, Adventure Time, Trollhunters, and other fantasy-adventure titles.

Dark Horse Books are exclusively revealing via AIPT a new young adult graphic novel called Under Kingdom. Written by Christof Bogacs with art by Marie Enger, the adventure is filled with adventure and creatures from folklore and fantasy. It’s out in comic shops on March 15th and in bookstores on March 28th.

“It’s hard to know what to say about Under Kingdom,” says Bogacs and Enger. “As sappy as it sounds, I guess the easiest way to sum it up is love; a love of monsters, a love for the scrappy underdog, and an unwavering belief in the power of empathy. Plus, there are fart jokes!”

Listen to the latest episode of our weekly comics podcast!

So what’s Under Kingdom about?

After the sudden disappearance of his mom, high school freshman, Shay, is thrust into a secret world of monsters that exists underneath his small West-Virginian town. With the help of his shapeshifting aunt Sa’Belle, he must search for his mother while doing what he can to safeguard the citizens of the “Under Kingdom,” all while trying to maintain his normal high school life. If that wasn’t enough, Shay’s no fighter, but the Under Kingdom demands he take arms to protect his friends and family.

Check out the cover below.

Dark Horse sends Young Adult OGN 'Under Kingdom' to comic shops March 2023

For more ont his news, read the official press release below.

MILWAUKIE, Ore., (July 6)— Dark Horse Books presents Under Kingdom, a young adult graphic novel full of adventure and familiar creatures from folklore and fantasy, written by Christof Bogacs (Earth to Chris Cleevy!, VOLUME) with art by Marie Enger (Where Black Stars Rise, Controlled Burn).

After the sudden disappearance of his mom, high school freshman, Shay, is thrust into a secret world of monsters that exists underneath his small West-Virginian town. With the help of his shapeshifting aunt Sa’Belle, he must search for his mother while doing what he can to safeguard the citizens of the “Under Kingdom,” all while trying to maintain his normal high school life. If that wasn’t enough, Shay’s no fighter, but the Under Kingdom demands he take arms to protect his friends and family.

“It’s hard to know what to say about Under Kingdom,” says Bogacs and Enger. “As sappy as it sounds, I guess the easiest way to sum it up is love; a love of monsters, a love for the scrappy underdog and an unwavering belief in the power of empathy. Plus, there are fart jokes!”

Under Kingdom is perfect for fans of Critical Role, Adventure Time, Trollhunters, and other fantasy-adventure titles. It is recommended for ages 10 and up.

The Under Kingdom paperback will be available at comic stores March 15, 2023 and in bookstores March 28, 2023. It is available for pre-order on Amazon, Barnes & Noble, and at your local comic shop and bookstore. Under Kingdom will retail for $19.99.


Become a patron today to get exclusive perks, like access to our exclusive Discord community and our monthly comic book club, ad-free browsing on aiptcomics.com, a physical trade paperback sent to your house every month, and more!

Comments

In Case You Missed It

'Amazing Spider-Man' #7 (LGY #901) explores Peter Parker's anger 'Amazing Spider-Man' #7 (LGY #901) explores Peter Parker's anger

‘Amazing Spider-Man’ #7 (LGY #901) explores Peter Parker’s anger

Comic Books

‘A.X.E.: Judgment Day’ #2 is an exciting, layered, action extravaganza ‘A.X.E.: Judgment Day’ #2 is an exciting, layered, action extravaganza

‘A.X.E.: Judgment Day’ #2 is an exciting, layered, action extravaganza

Comic Books

Love Everlasting #1 Love Everlasting #1

‘Love Everlasting’ #1 is flawless

Comic Books

DC Comics extends 'Poison Ivy' for second six-issue story arc DC Comics extends 'Poison Ivy' for second six-issue story arc

DC Comics extends ‘Poison Ivy’ for second six-issue story arc

Comic Books

Connect
Newsletter Signup