Connect with us
LGBTQ romance 'Light Carries On' drops into comic shops March 2023
Dark Horse

Comic Books

LGBTQ romance ‘Light Carries On’ drops into comic shops March 2023

‘Light Carries On’ is perfect for fans of Mooncakes, Laura Dean Keeps Breaking Up with Me, and One Last Stop.

Press Release

Dark Horse Books has revealed a new OGN called Light Carries On set for release in March 2023. From creator Ray Nadine, the series is “Perfect  for fans of MooncakesLaura Dean Keeps Breaking Up with Me, and One Last Stop.” Expect it in comic shops March 15 and in bookstores on March 28th.

“For most of my life, I lived in St. Louis, and in that time I created my first comic. It was an important story to me, an open love letter to the city of St. Louis, a processing of grief and trauma, and a means for me to live truthfully in a time that I couldn’t. Eventually, I outgrew the story; continuing to create it kept me in a depressing place I didn’t want to be,” Nadine said in a statement sent to AIPT. “I still love St. Louis dearly, but years ago I moved to Chicago. And now, Light Carries On is my open love letter to the city of Chicago, to the thought that we’re not alone in our struggles, and to being unapologetically queer. All of my stories are that last bit, unapologetically queer, but Light Carries On carries what my first comic didn’t: a light of hope at the end. I hope that those who read it find that light, as creating it helped me do the same!”

Listen to the latest episode of our weekly comics podcast!

So what’s Light Carries On about?

When Leon’s camera unexpectedly breaks, he is forced to borrow a used one from his mom’s antique store. As he snaps the first picture, the ghost of the camera’s former owner is released, and the two are inexplicably linked. After taking Leon’s body for an accidental joyride, the ghost introduces himself as Cody, a queer punk rocker who died decades ago. Of course, he doesn’t remember how he wound up dead, but the two decide investigating might be the only way to end the haunting.

Leon has been reeling from a recent break-up with his boyfriend, recovering from his time in the military, and trying to become a photographer who can afford to take pictures of something more than high school proms and weddings. So, being the only one able to see and talk to a ghost that died before cellphones, Wikipedia, or iTunes seems like a great way to fill his ample free time. The two get closer as they travel around Chicago showing each other the landmarks of their pasts and trying to unearth the secrets around Cody’s mysterious death. They discover they have much more in common than expected as they explore the complexities of life, love, and afterdeath, taking breaks to jam out to tunes, hang out in planetariums, and slurp down frozen beverages.

LGBTQ romance 'Light Carries On' drops into comic shops March 2023

For more on this graphic novel, read the official press release below.

MILWAUKIE, Ore., (July 8, 2022)— Dark Horse Books presents Light Carries On, an otherworldly LGBTQ romance from Ray Nadine (Dollhouse, Messenger, Raise Hell!). Perfect for fans of MooncakesLaura Dean Keeps Breaking Up with Me, and One Last Stop, this greyscale and spot color graphic novel will be presented in hardcover in March 2023.

When Leon’s camera unexpectedly breaks, he is forced to borrow a used one from his mom’s antique store. As he snaps the first picture, the ghost of the camera’s former owner is released, and the two are inexplicably linked. After taking Leon’s body for an accidental joyride, the ghost introduces himself as Cody, a queer punk rocker who died decades ago. Of course, he doesn’t remember how he wound up dead, but the two decide investigating might be the only way to end the haunting.

Leon has been reeling from a recent break-up with his boyfriend, recovering from his time in the military, and trying to become a photographer who can afford to take pictures of something more than high school proms and weddings. So, being the only one able to see and talk to a ghost that died before cellphones, Wikipedia, or iTunes seems like a great way to fill his ample free time. The two get closer as they travel around Chicago showing each other the landmarks of their pasts and trying to unearth the secrets around Cody’s mysterious death. They discover they have much more in common than expected as they explore the complexities of life, love, and afterdeath, taking breaks to jam out to tunes, hang out in planetariums, and slurp down frozen beverages.

On Light Carries On, Ray said, “For most of my life, I lived in St. Louis, and in that time I created my first comic. It was an important story to me, an open love letter to the city of St. Louis, a processing of grief and trauma, and a means for me to live truthfully in a time that I couldn’t. Eventually, I outgrew the story; continuing to create it kept me in a depressing place I didn’t want to be. I still love St. Louis dearly, but years ago I moved to Chicago. And now, Light Carries On is my open love letter to the city of Chicago, to the thought that we’re not alone in our struggles, and to being unapologetically queer. All of my stories are that last bit, unapologetically queer, but Light Carries On carries what my first comic didn’t: a light of hope at the end. I hope that those who read it find that light, as creating it helped me do the same!”

The Light Carries On hardcover will be available at comic stores March 15, 2023 and in bookstores March 28, 2023. It is available for pre-order on AmazonBarnes & Noble, and at your local comic shop and bookstoreLight Carries On will retail for $19.99.

Join the AIPT Patreon

Want to take our relationship to the next level? Become a patron today to gain access to exclusive perks, such as:

  • ❌ Remove all ads on the website
  • 💬 Join our Discord community, where we chat about the latest news and releases from everything we cover on AIPT
  • 📗 Access to our monthly book club
  • 📦 Get a physical trade paperback shipped to you every month
  • 💥 And more!
Sign up today
Comments

In Case You Missed It

'Tim Drake: Robin' #1 leans in to the detective element 'Tim Drake: Robin' #1 leans in to the detective element

‘Tim Drake: Robin’ #1 leans in to the detective element

Comic Books

'The Human Target' #7 review: Fire & Ice 'The Human Target' #7 review: Fire & Ice

‘The Human Target’ #7 review: Fire & Ice

Comic Books

'Mighty Morphin Power Rangers' #100 is fun for both casual and hardcore fans 'Mighty Morphin Power Rangers' #100 is fun for both casual and hardcore fans

‘Mighty Morphin Power Rangers’ #100 is fun for both casual and hardcore fans

Comic Books

‘Superman: Space Age’ #2 soars to new heights of robust comics storytelling ‘Superman: Space Age’ #2 soars to new heights of robust comics storytelling

‘Superman: Space Age’ #2 soars to new heights of robust comics storytelling

Comic Books

Connect
Newsletter Signup