Connect with us
Hellboy and the B.P.R.D.: Saturn Returns #3 Review
Dark Horse

Comic Books

Hellboy and the B.P.R.D.: Saturn Returns #3 Review

Longtime Hellboy fans will love how this ends.

The three-part “Saturn Returns” storyline comes to an end this week and it features big reveals, characters connecting, and more. What defines this story is its location in New Hampshire and a connection made between Liz and Hellboy earlier in their relationship. For Hellboy fans and those who adore this series it’s an easy purchase while others may enjoy the detective story and the big reveal of what the monsters were all along.

Adds to the mythology of America

This issue opens with a scene set in 110,000 B.C.E. in what is known today as New Hampshire. Scott Allie and Mike Mignola reveal a different kind of monster, or at least an ancient one that hasn’t evolved quite yet. It’s a cool reveal since it connects the recently found bodies to a possible lost culture of people. This leads to the reminder Hellboy is jumping ship on the mission to help Liz and a few unfortunate accidents by way of murder. The intensity of the story ratchets up when Liz is attacked in Connecticut and the remaining police and detectives in New Hampshire are also attacked. The beauty of this story is how the mystery still remains to the very end although there are a few theories. It’s another example of how some of the best stories maintain a sense of mystery and wonderment by not giving everything away.

Listen to the latest episode of our weekly comics podcast!

Fans of Liz and Hellboy definitely need to read this one too. Hellboy comes to Liz’s aid even though she doesn’t necessarily need his help. In the short scene of their reunion to the final scene with hem both playing chess you can tell they need each other. A point is made about hanging tight with those you love and it’s an endearing moment.

The perfect autumn Hellboy story

Christopher Mitten’s art continues to shine. If I had a say I’d like Mitten and Mignola to collaborate every October as the autumn season is beautifully rendered here. The action feels intense yet contained too and there is some methodical layout design at work here to draw you in. Take for instance a scene with a cop coming back to the station early morning only to find the bloody broken glass. Over 8 panels he simply arrives, walks up, and enters the building and yet the tension is high. Turn the page to see the mayhem and the scene is rendered more shocking thanks to the build-up.

Now that this story has come to an end it’s quite clear it was a nice seasonal story detailing a meaningful moment between Hellboy and Liz that wasn’t your conventional monster madness Hellboy story. It’s lighter and written for the longtime fans rather than those who want a good scary story. That said, there are other Hellboy stories out that can scratch your itch for monsters and fight scenes like next week’s Hellboy and the B.P.R.D.: Long Night at Goloski Station.

Hellboy and the B.P.R.D.: Saturn Returns #3 Review
Hellboy and the B.P.R.D.: Saturn Returns #3
Is it good?
Now that this story has come to an end it's quite clear it was a nice seasonal story detailing a meaningful moment between Hellboy and Liz that wasn't your conventional monster madness Hellboy story. It's lighter and written for the longtime fans rather than those who want a good scary story. That said, there are other Hellboy stories out that can scratch your itch for monsters and fight scenes.
Well paced especially by the layout and art keeping things tense
Adds to the mythology of America!
Fans of the Liz and Hellboy relationship will love it
8
Good

Join the AIPT Patreon

Want to take our relationship to the next level? Become a patron today to gain access to exclusive perks, such as:

  • ❌ Remove all ads on the website
  • 💬 Join our Discord community, where we chat about the latest news and releases from everything we cover on AIPT
  • 📗 Access to our monthly book club
  • 📦 Get a physical trade paperback shipped to you every month
  • 💥 And more!
Sign up today
Comments

In Case You Missed It

Sick and disturbed: Daniel Hillyard and Doug Wagner unpack new series 'Plush' Sick and disturbed: Daniel Hillyard and Doug Wagner unpack new series 'Plush'

Sick and disturbed: Daniel Hillyard and Doug Wagner unpack new series ‘Plush’

Comic Books

DC Comics Preview: Batman #130 DC Comics Preview: Batman #130

DC Comics Preview: Batman #130

Comic Books

Captain Marvel #43 Captain Marvel #43

‘Captain Marvel’ #43 reunites Carol with the X-Men

Comic Books

DC Preview: The New Golden Age #1 DC Preview: The New Golden Age #1

DC Preview: The New Golden Age #1

Comic Books

Connect
Newsletter Signup