Connect with us
Pirates, Bandits, Tiny Monsters, and more abound in 'A House Divided: The Accursed Inheritance of Henrietta Achilles'

Comic Books

Pirates, Bandits, Tiny Monsters, and more abound in ‘A House Divided: The Accursed Inheritance of Henrietta Achilles’

Lerner Publishing Group debuts a 4-Part graphic novel series on April 7.

Press Release

“Beautifully drawn, great facial expressions, great humor and mystery and fun, all the things you want an adventure fantasy comic to be!”—Kate Beaton (HARK! A VAGRANT)

Acclaimed cartoonist Kate Beaton (HARK! A VAGRANT) says that it delivers “all the things you want an adventure fantasy comic to be!” Kirkus Reviews declares, “humor abounds with witty banter… [and the] breathtaking illustrations… will delight.” Are you ready for the new graphic novel series that’s recommended for fans of RPGs and high adventure—and perfect for readers of Lumberjanes and The Adventure Zone graphic novels? Welcome to A HOUSE DIVIDED: THE ACCURSED INHERITANCE OF HENRIETTA ACHILLES, the action-packed first volume of a brand new, 4-part graphic novel series created by two lifelong friends, Haiko Hörnig and Marius Pawlitza.

Listen to the latest episode of our weekly comics podcast!

Haiko Hörnig spent his childhood in his parents’ comic book store, Comicothek, where he developed a love for sequential art at an early age. In middle school, he quickly became friends with Marius Pawlitza. The two of them first enjoyed role-playing games together and later started to make comics. And now their cult favorite graphic novel series is making its English language debut from Lerner Books.

A HOUSE DIVIDED: THE ACCURSED INHERITANCE OF HENRIETTA ACHILLES is a magical and dynamic romp that takes its cues from the role-playing games the creators played as kids. When 15-year old Henrietta Achilles is plucked from the orphanage and taken to a mysterious town called Malrenard, she’s surprised to learn that the death of an uncle she’s never met means she’s inherited his home. But Henrietta quickly learns that this inheritance is more of a burden than a gift. The house holds a powerful, magical secret—and now it’s plagued by bandits and strange creatures intent on possessing the house and its treasures. Henrietta is quickly swept up in their antics as she is thrown headlong into an ominous but kooky adventure full of stolen quiche, talking statues, and roving pirate gangs.

Hörnig and Pawlitza make fantastic collaborators, and their lifelong friendship and love for role-playing games imbues A HOUSE DIVIDED with a sense of infectious fun that makes the book a delightful and entertaining read. An epic war? Check. A determined heroine? Yes! A missing treasure? An enchanted castle? Recipes in the back of each volume? Yes, yes, and yes. Get ready to discover the magical world of A HOUSE DIVIDED. A HOUSE DIVIDED: THE ACCURSED INHERITANCE OF HENRIETTA ACHILLES will be available from Lerner Publishing Group where books are sold on April 7, 2020.

Join the AIPT Patreon

Want to take our relationship to the next level? Become a patron today to gain access to exclusive perks, such as:

  • ❌ Remove all ads on the website
  • 💬 Join our Discord community, where we chat about the latest news and releases from everything we cover on AIPT
  • 📗 Access to our monthly book club
  • 📦 Get a physical trade paperback shipped to you every month
  • 💥 And more!
Sign up today
Comments

In Case You Missed It

Sick and disturbed: Daniel Hillyard and Doug Wagner unpack new series 'Plush' Sick and disturbed: Daniel Hillyard and Doug Wagner unpack new series 'Plush'

Sick and disturbed: Daniel Hillyard and Doug Wagner unpack new series ‘Plush’

Comic Books

DC Comics Preview: Batman #130 DC Comics Preview: Batman #130

DC Comics Preview: Batman #130

Comic Books

Captain Marvel #43 Captain Marvel #43

‘Captain Marvel’ #43 reunites Carol with the X-Men

Comic Books

DC Preview: The New Golden Age #1 DC Preview: The New Golden Age #1

DC Preview: The New Golden Age #1

Comic Books

Connect
Newsletter Signup