Connect with us
Image Comics launching sci-fi OGN 'MAWRTH VALLIIS' for July
Image

Comic Books

Image Comics launching sci-fi OGN ‘MAWRTH VALLIIS’ for July

Guided by her determination and curiosity, a fighter pilot is led into a dangerous chase through Mars’s forbidden valley.

Press Release

Image Comics has announced a new sci-fi original graphic novel set for July release called MAWRTH VALLIIS. The 128-page OGN is written and drawn by EPHK and can be preordered now through your comic book shop or Amazon. The book was originally funded on Kickstarter.

“[MAWRTH VALLIS is] Inspired by my new found love for the storytelling format of Mexican historietas and my never ending adoration of classic ’70s European sci-fi narratives,” said EPHK via a press release sent to AIPT. “I think anyone who’s into classic sci-fi adventure but also interested in new ways to discover it, would enjoy reading MV.”

Listen to the latest episode of our weekly comics podcast!

So what’s it about?

During a skirmish with an opposing Martian faction, a fighter pilot disobeys orders to pursue a fleeing foe. Guided by her determination and curiosity, she is led into a dangerous chase through Mars’s forbidden valley where she will be confronted with the red planet’s darkest of secrets.

Check out a preview below.

Image Comics launching sci-fi OGN 'MAWRTH VALLIIS' for July Image Comics launching sci-fi OGN 'MAWRTH VALLIIS' for July Image Comics launching sci-fi OGN 'MAWRTH VALLIIS' for July Image Comics launching sci-fi OGN 'MAWRTH VALLIIS' for July Image Comics launching sci-fi OGN 'MAWRTH VALLIIS' for July Image Comics launching sci-fi OGN 'MAWRTH VALLIIS' for July Image Comics launching sci-fi OGN 'MAWRTH VALLIIS' for July

For more on this news, read the official press release below.

PORTLAND, Ore. 04/22/2021 — Writer/artist EPHK will take readers on a pulse-pounding, sci-fi journey through Mars’ mysteries in the forthcoming MAWRTH VALLIIS. This original graphic novel will land in stores this July from Image Comics.

This unique story is a fast-paced, 128-page, full-color, pocket-format experience all told in its original Martian language.

“[MAWRTH VALLIS is] Inspired by my new found love for the storytelling format of Mexican historietas and my never ending adoration of classic ’70s European sci-fi narratives,” said EPHK. “I think anyone who’s into classic sci-fi adventure but also interested in new ways to discover it, would enjoy reading MV.”

During a skirmish with an opposing Martian faction, a fighter pilot disobeys orders to pursue a fleeing foe. Guided by her determination and curiosity, she is led into a dangerous chase through Mars’s forbidden valley where she will be confronted with the red planet’s darkest of secrets.

MAWRTH VALLIIS is a visceral, immersive experience perfect for fans of Jesse Lonergan’s Hedra and Rick Remender and Matteo Scalera’s Black Science.

MAWRTH VALLIIS original graphic novel (ISBN: 978-1534320543, Diamond Code MAY210093) will be available on Wednesday, July 21 and in bookstores on Tuesday, July 27. It can be pre-ordered at your local comic book shop or independent bookstore via Bookshop or IndieBound, or it can be pre-ordered on AmazonBarnes & Noble, Books-a-Million, and Indigo.

MAWRTH VALLIIS will also be available for purchase across many digital platforms, including Amazon Kindle, Apple Books, comiXology, and Google Play.

Like what we do here at AIPT? Consider supporting us and independent comics journalism by becoming a patron today! In addition to our sincere thanks, you can browse AIPT ad-free, gain access to our vibrant Discord community of patrons and staff members, get trade paperbacks sent to your house every month, and a lot more. Click the button below to get started!

Comments

In Case You Missed It

the wheel of time the wheel of time

‘The Wheel of Time’ Episode 4 review: ‘The Dragon Reborn’

Television

AIPT 2021 Toys Gift Guide: Hasbro, Neca, Sideshow, and more AIPT 2021 Toys Gift Guide: Hasbro, Neca, Sideshow, and more

AIPT 2021 Toys Gift Guide: Hasbro, Neca, Sideshow, and more

Toys

'Hulk' #1 review: The Hulk, my destination 'Hulk' #1 review: The Hulk, my destination

‘Hulk’ #1 review: The Hulk, my destination

Comic Books

'Black Panther' #1 gets right down to business 'Black Panther' #1 gets right down to business

‘Black Panther’ #1 gets right down to business

Comic Books

Connect
Newsletter Signup