Connect with us
Image Comics to launch crime comic 'Newburn' from Chip Zdarsky & Jacob Phillips
Image

Comic Books

Image Comics to launch crime comic ‘Newburn’ from Chip Zdarsky & Jacob Phillips

Expect ‘Newburn’ in comic book shops this November.

Press Release

Image Comics has revealed Chip Zdarsky and Jacob Phillips are teaming up for a new crime series called Newburn. That’s not all, the comic will also feature the backup story “Brooklyn Zirconia,” by Nadia Shammas and Ziyed Yusuf Ayoub with cover B by artist Tula Lotay.

“I love the satisfaction that comes from crime procedurals, so the chance to do that in comic form, while crafting a massive story about a fictional New York underworld, was something I couldn’t wait to do,” said Zdarsky in an exclusive on the announcement at Comic Book Resources. “And Jacob is the perfect artist for the book! His work is gritty and full of heart and he’s bringing it all to this book.”

Listen to the latest episode of our weekly comics podcast!

So what’s Newburn about?

In Newburn, readers meet Easton Newburn, a private detective without loyalties investigating conflicts between rival crime factions while collecting enemies along the way. In this debut issue, a man is murdered after stealing from his own mafia family, but they aren’t the ones who ordered the hit…

Image Comics to launch crime comic 'Newburn' from Chip Zdarsky & Jacob Phillips Image Comics to launch crime comic 'Newburn' from Chip Zdarsky & Jacob Phillips Image Comics to launch crime comic 'Newburn' from Chip Zdarsky & Jacob Phillips Image Comics to launch crime comic 'Newburn' from Chip Zdarsky & Jacob Phillips

For more on this news, read the official press release below.

PORTLAND, Ore. 08/19/2021 — Bestselling, multiple Eisner Award winning writer Chip Zdarsky (Daredevil) is in cahoots with fan-favorite artist Jacob Phillips (That Texas Blood) for an all new, ongoing crime comic titled, Newburn. This hardboiled new series will launch from Image Comics in November.

In Newburn, readers meet Easton Newburn, a private detective without loyalties investigating conflicts between rival crime factions while collecting enemies along the way. In this debut issue, a man is murdered after stealing from his own mafia family, but they aren’t the ones who ordered the hit…

“I love the satisfaction that comes from crime procedurals, so the chance to do that in comic form, while crafting a massive story about a fictional New York underworld, was something I couldn’t wait to do,” said Zdarsky in an exclusive on the announcement at Comic Book Resources. “And Jacob is the perfect artist for the book! His work is gritty and full of heart and he’s bringing it all to this book.”

Newburn is the perfect crime series for fans of Ed Brubaker and Sean Phillips’ Criminal and classic Raymond Chandler books. The series is perhaps best described as Sherlock meets The Wire.

Phillips added: “Newburn brings something fresh to crime comics that I’ve not seen before. Chip’s at the top of his game crafting these tight done-in-one stories which have been great fun to draw and even more fun to read. I can’t wait for people to see what we’ve been cooking up!”

The debut issue will also include a riveting backup story called, “Brooklyn Zirconia,” by rising stars Nadia Shammas and Ziyed Yusuf Ayoub and feature a cover B by critically acclaimed artist Tula Lotay.

Newburn #1 will be available at comic book shops on Wednesday, November 3:

  • Newburn #1 Cover A Phillips – Diamond Code SEP210011
  • Newburn #1 Cover B Lotay – Diamond Code SEP210012

Newburn #1 will also be available for purchase across many digital platforms, including Amazon Kindle, Apple Books, comiXology, and Google Play.

Join the AIPT Patreon

Want to take our relationship to the next level? Become a patron today to gain access to exclusive perks, such as:

  • ❌ Remove all ads on the website
  • 💬 Join our Discord community, where we chat about the latest news and releases from everything we cover on AIPT
  • 📗 Access to our monthly book club
  • 📦 Get a physical trade paperback shipped to you every month
  • 💥 And more!
Sign up today
Comments

In Case You Missed It

'Tim Drake: Robin' #1 leans in to the detective element 'Tim Drake: Robin' #1 leans in to the detective element

‘Tim Drake: Robin’ #1 leans in to the detective element

Comic Books

'The Human Target' #7 review: Fire & Ice 'The Human Target' #7 review: Fire & Ice

‘The Human Target’ #7 review: Fire & Ice

Comic Books

'Mighty Morphin Power Rangers' #100 is fun for both casual and hardcore fans 'Mighty Morphin Power Rangers' #100 is fun for both casual and hardcore fans

‘Mighty Morphin Power Rangers’ #100 is fun for both casual and hardcore fans

Comic Books

‘Superman: Space Age’ #2 soars to new heights of robust comics storytelling ‘Superman: Space Age’ #2 soars to new heights of robust comics storytelling

‘Superman: Space Age’ #2 soars to new heights of robust comics storytelling

Comic Books

Connect
Newsletter Signup