Connect with us
Echolands #1
Image Comics

Comic Books

‘Echolands’ #1 oozes great masterpiece potential

Echolands has the makings of one of the great epics of modern comic books in the tradition of Sandman or Fables.

Echolands is, out the gate, a book all but screaming its ambitions. It’s in the formatting of the book, sure — the landscape widescreen spread of two standard pages laid side by side announces a breathtaking potential scope — but it’s also in the fine details, the narrator’s tale, the wide sweep of action.

Echolands - Intro Spread
Image Comics

Its instantly obvious, at any rate, by the simple fact of JH Williams III’s artwork, which is even at its most restrained some of the most breathtakingly original, powerful styles in comic books today. His presence on a book implies a sort of cultural prestige in much the way that Alex Ross interiors might: that sort of deeply considered craftsmanship takes time, and you don’t throw that type of time and talent at just anything.

Listen to the latest episode of our weekly comics podcast!

That this is a creator-owned book — that Williams III and co-creator and writer Haden Blackman are investing these formidable powers and ambitions into something over which they have complete control — only furthers the boundless potential for the book. It can get as big and weird as they want it to.

This first issue of the book, despite the epic spectacle of its presentation, doesn’t jet us off into those great unknowns by introductory necessity. The issue, instead, feels like the comic book equivalent of the low, wide establishing shots of a particularly concept-heavy film. It feels equal parts Blade Runner, Mos Eisley Cantina, and Sandman.

Echolands - Diversity Potential
Image Comics

We’re introduced not only to our fairy tale-esque protagonist, Hope, but also to the impossibly populated world of the book, jam-packed with diverse critters and peoples rendered in varied, conflicting art styles. With this lone spread, we come to understand the nature of our setting: some sort of multiple world and/or reality melting pot city wherein everyone seems driven to their own unique ends.

In a world like this, it isn’t surprising that there are strange, militaristic forces on Hope’s tail, nor that things descend into extreme, horrifying violence.

Echolands - Military Violence
Image Comics

Our antagonist seems to be a ruthless and gruesome hunter, born of a rarified magic, and she’s creepy as hell; that she reports to a higher power — an imposing Wizard in control of things, profiled in a newspaper article at the back of the issue — only further highlights how far the book can go, what sort of villain ladder is in place.

Echolands - Creepy
Image Comics

The issue provides an incredible amount of action alongside the simple expositive task of introductions, and a portion of that action is aided by the unique flow of the book — those two pages, the bold use of that landscape in unique, visually striking but deeply functional paneling. A lot of information can be laid down on the page without anything feeling too cluttered or too overwhelming (or, rather, overwhelming in a negative way).

Echolands has the makings of one of the great epics of modern comic books in the tradition of Sandman or Fables. Compelling, mysterious, and packed with a cast I cannot wait to get to know, this first issue does nothing to sate my curiosity over what comes next, and I cannot begin to anticipate the heights the book might reach.

Echolands #1
‘Echolands’ #1 oozes great masterpiece potential
Echolands #1
With a format and style all its own, Echolands is nearly a brochure for its own potential to be the Next Big Important Comic.
Reader Rating6 Votes
8
Immersive, dynamic plotting and illustration work.
A rich, untapped world.
Feels one or two beats too short.
9
Great

Like what we do here at AIPT? Consider supporting us and independent comics journalism by becoming a patron today! In addition to our sincere thanks, you can browse AIPT ad-free, gain access to our vibrant Discord community of patrons and staff members, get trade paperbacks sent to your house every month, and a lot more. Click the button below to get started!

Comments

In Case You Missed It

Batgirls Batgirls

DC First Look: Batgirls #1 and #2

Comic Books

DC First Look: Batman #118 and #119 DC First Look: Batman #118 and #119

DC First Look: Batman #118 and #119

Comic Books

DC First Look: Swamp Thing Green Hell #1 DC First Look: Swamp Thing Green Hell #1

DC First Look: Swamp Thing Green Hell #1

Comic Books

'Spider-Woman' #15 offers the best Jessica Drew comics...ever? 'Spider-Woman' #15 offers the best Jessica Drew comics...ever?

‘Spider-Woman’ #15 offers the best Jessica Drew comics…ever?

Comic Books

Connect
Newsletter Signup