Connect with us
EXCLUSIVE Oni Press Preview: Silk Hills

Comic Books

EXCLUSIVE Oni Press Preview: Silk Hills

Discover what goes bump in the night!

Courtesy of Oni Press, we have your first look at an all-new graphic novel that’s perfect for fans of Twin Peaks, The X-Files, and Sons of the Devil called Silk Hills. It’s by creators Ryan Ferrier, Brian Level, and Kate Sherron.

“Silk Hills was another chance to work with collaborators I adore and who, in turn, have faith in me when I say ‘Okay, but I wanna try something a little weird here.’ I prefer to tell dark tales in colorful ways, especially when there’s light and life to dig out from beneath burnt-black story-skin, and bless the boys for supporting such choices from the outset,” said Kate Sherron.

Listen to the latest episode of our weekly comics podcast!

Ryan Ferrier added, “Silk Hills […], was the chance to create something that genuinely scared me; to explore the unfamiliar and unsettling; to peel back the skin, so to speak, and do something finely tuned into never-quite-center,” he commented. “I was lucky enough to do so with the two most creative and remarkable souls I know. I’m excited for readers to fall through the rabbit hole of Silk Hills so lovingly and devastatingly crafted by Brian, Kate, and me.”

Check out the full preview and summary below.

When Beth Wills comes to Silk Hills, a small Appalachian town that’s seen better days since the mines were abandoned, she expected a bit of culture shock…but not like this! Beth is someone who has a talent for finding people who don’t want to be found, and when she’s called to Silk Hills by a local titan of industry, she can tell that something’s not right.

Silk Hills

Writer: Ryan Ferrier and Brian Level
Artist: Kate Sherron
Letters: crank!
Release Date: Summer 2022

EXCLUSIVE Oni Press Preview: Silk Hills EXCLUSIVE Oni Press Preview: Silk Hills EXCLUSIVE Oni Press Preview: Silk Hills EXCLUSIVE Oni Press Preview: Silk Hills EXCLUSIVE Oni Press Preview: Silk Hills

For more on this title, read the official press release below.

APPALACHIAN HORROR TAKES WING IN ALL-NEW ORIGINAL GRAPHIC NOVEL

Discover What Goes Bump in the Night in SILK HILLS, Coming Summer 2022 from Oni Press

Portland, OR: Oni Press is pleased to announce the upcoming publication of the original horror graphic novel SILK HILLS, written by Ryan Ferrier (D4ve, Kennel Block Blues) and Brian Level (Avengers: Back to Basics, Chained to the Grave), illustrated and with colors by Kate Sherron (Chained to the Grave, The Amazing World of Gumball), and lettering by crank! (Invader ZIM, Rick and Morty). Silk Hills will be available Summer 2022.

When Beth Wills comes to Silk Hills, a small Appalachian town that’s seen better days since the mines were abandoned, she expected a bit of culture shock…but not like this! Beth is someone who has a talent for finding people who don’t want to be found, and when she’s called to Silk Hills by a local titan of industry, she can tell that something’s not right.

Silk Hills was another chance to work with collaborators I adore and who, in turn, have faith in me when I say ‘Okay, but I wanna try something a little weird here.’ I prefer to tell dark tales in colorful ways, especially when there’s light and life to dig out from beneath burnt-black story-skin, and bless the boys for supporting such choices from the outset,” said Kate Sherron.

The town was once booming, but now the only reason people tend to come through anymore is to buy Mothman merchandise. Before long, Beth finds out just how wrong things can get in the woods, as her search for a missing troubled youth finds her running afoul of the local drug trade, too-friendly creepers, a very sinister deer, and psychoactive moth dust.

In the case of Ryan Ferrier, his goal was to push boundaries and create something that scared even himself. “Silk Hills […], was the chance to create something that genuinely scared me; to explore the unfamiliar and unsettling; to peel back the skin, so to speak, and do something finely tuned into never-quite-center,” he commented. “I was lucky enough to do so with the two most creative and remarkable souls I know. I’m excited for readers to fall through the rabbit hole of Silk Hills so lovingly and devastatingly crafted by Brian, Kate, and me.”

Bursting with the themes of regional and cultural beliefs, and the exploration of superstitions that are often entangled over the course of generations, Silk Hills is the kind of story Brian Level has been waiting for. “Silk Hills, for me, has been a journey from its decaying streets into a dark hidden heart. Though violent and terrible, it’s filled with love and levity. The push and pull of tradition and transformation is covered in a layer of blood and soil. One part mystery, one part fairy tale, and one part unflinching horror, Silk Hills is a story that unearths its own hidden heart and devours it.”

Perfect for fans of Twin Peaks, The X-Files, and Sons of the Devil, Silk Hills weaves atmospheric and stylish suspense into an unsettling by quirky tapestry with elements of folklore, body horror, and themes calling back to Italian slasher films. Silk Hills will be available online and in stores on May 25, 2022.

The Oni-Lion Forge Publishing Group is a premier comic book and graphic novel publisher located in Portland, Oregon. Merged with Lion Forge Comics in 2019 but established in 1997, Oni Press publishes a thoughtfully curated line of award-winning original and licensed graphic novels and comic books for readers of all ages. Oni Press also publishes inclusive sex education, gender studies & erotica graphic novels under the Limerence Press imprint. Notable titles from the Oni Press include: The Tea Dragon Society, Sheets, Gender Queer, A Quick & Easy Guide to They/Them Pronouns, Scott Pilgrim, Stumptown, Sanrio’s Gudetama, and Adult Swim’s Rick and Morty.

About the Creators

Ryan Ferrier is a Canadian comic-book writer, published by every major North American comics company, and best known for his original comic series’ such as Kennel Block Blues, Death Orb, I Can Sell You A Body, the highly celebrated D4VE trilogy, and the acclaimed graphic novel Criminy. Ryan has also written for some of pop culture’s most beloved properties, including Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles, Marvel’s Deadpool, DC’s Batman, Mighty Morphin Power Rangers, G.I. Joe, and Planet of the Apes. He is an avid fan of black coffee, hardcore music, professional wrestling, and fat pets.

Brian Level is a cartoonist, tattooer, and writer who has contributed to premiere comic books including Star Wars, Batman, Spider-Man, Avengers, and Deadpool. His work has been internationally recognized for over fifteen years. He was born from dust, and to the dust he shall return. Until then, he lives with his family in the greater Cincinnati area, where he makes stories and operates Illuminaut Tattoo.

Kate Sherron is an artist, designer, and comic-book writer whose comics credits include The Amazing World of Gumball, Adventure Time, Rugrats, Labyrinth: A Discovery Adventure, and, of course, Invader ZIM. Kate also wrangles hellbeasts in an amateur capacity and lives in St. Louis, MO.

Christopher Crank (crank!) has lettered a bunch of books put out by Image, Dark Horse, Oni Press, Dynamite, and elsewhere. He also has a podcast with comic artist Mike Norton and members of Four Star Studios in Chicago (crankcast.com), and makes music (sonomorti.bandcamp.com). Catch him on Twitter: @ccrank and Instagram: ccrank.

Like what we do here at AIPT? Consider supporting us and independent comics journalism by becoming a patron today! In addition to our sincere thanks, you can browse AIPT ad-free, gain access to our vibrant Discord community of patrons and staff members, get trade paperbacks sent to your house every month, and a lot more. Click the button below to get started!

Comments

In Case You Missed It

X-Men: The Trial of Magneto #4 X-Men: The Trial of Magneto #4

There’s still no trial and hardly any Magneto to be found in ‘X-Men: The Trial of Magneto’ #4

Comic Books

Daredevil #36 Daredevil #36

‘Daredevil’ #36 review: The end

Comic Books

Marvel teases 'Destiny of X' era of the X-Men Marvel teases 'Destiny of X' era of the X-Men

Marvel teases ‘Destiny of X’ era of the X-Men

Comic Books

Spider-Men: Worlds Collide Spider-Men: Worlds Collide

Sara Pichelli’s art stuns in ‘Spider-Men: Worlds Collide’, even when their scripts trip over their own webs

Comic Books

Connect
Newsletter Signup